05
Jan
08

Be a Better Photographer-(Intro)

While making my website and deciding on what I want to share with my readers, I realized that practically everyone either takes pictures or at least likes to fool around with a camera now and then. Certainly everyone loves to look at pictures! I don’t know a single person who does not have an album or a box of photos that they keep somewhere safe, taking them out once in a while; laughing, smiling, and sometimes crying over the memories that they bring back. If our house is on fire, what do we grab first? Our photos of course.

Although everyone loves and cherishes their pictures, sadly not many know how to take pictures well. And the truth is, you don’t have to be a professional photographer in order to have beautiful images. You don’t have to own a $5000 camera! You don’t have to know all the editing programs, such as photoshop! Most people simply do not know what makes a photograph good, and they don’t realize they can be getting great pictures with the equipment they already have.

Most of those that I know assume it’s the big, expensive camera that they need… They think that their pictures are dull, boring, not sharp or even blurry, have no color and are simply bad pictures because their camera is not as good as the other guy’s. When I photograph weddings, I see the guests bring their SLRs (an SLR is one of those expensive kind of cameras that you can change the lenses on. Some people refer to them as the “professional” camera) and try to compete with me when taking pictures. I am more than sure that 80 or even 90 percent of them have their camera set in “auto” mode. It think that’s funny. They probably bought their camera for $500, $1000 or even $1500 and they think that will get them great pictures. I bet many of them are not getting that good of pictures still. They look at the “professional” photographer websites and they see how clear, colorful, sharp and interesting the pictures are there, and they probably think, “I’ve got to buy that $3,000 or $5,000 camera that this photographer is using, THAT will surely make my pictures great”. The truth is, even if he or she bought the $30,000 wide format DSLR 39 mega-pixel camera (yes, those exist), the pictures would still look as bad as ever.

And so, I decided that it will be a good idea to tell YOU, the reader of my blog, how to get great pictures without spending tons of money and buying the bigger camera every year, or even month. Every two weeks I will post a Lesson on Photography that will be useful and concise. I do not wish to bore you with useless information and with lots of technical terms, or anything else that will be of no use to you. This series of lessons will give you the information you need to become a better photographer. It will help you capture the moments of your life better.

If there are certain questions that you have or would like to know anything about photography or anything else that I can help with, I will be more than happy to help. Photography is my passion and I would love to share it with others. You can leave comments and questions by clicking on the link “comments” at the top of this article.

Before I end, I must say a couple more things. I am not saying that there is no difference in the cameras that the real professional photographers use and those that an average consumer uses. I am not saying that after these lessons you will be so good that you can charge people money to take pictures of them. And I am not saying that there’s nothing hard about being a professional photographer. What I am saying is that there are simple things you can do to get the best out of your camera that you already have. If you know how to take pictures well, you will have MUCH better images with a $200 camera then someone who knows nothing about the simple rules of photography and is using a $5000 camera. Think about it, 50 years ago we did not have those real expensive, big digital cameras, but were there photographers that took amazing pictures? OF COURSE! And you can have great pictures too without buying into all of the hype.

I love taking pictures, and since you are reading this blog that means you do too! Keep reading every week and I will show you show to change your ordinary photos into beautiful pictures that will keep your memories forever.

daniel

4 Responses to “Be a Better Photographer-(Intro)”


  1. 1 Jason
    January 7, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Good post, looking forward to improving my skills and reading the series of lessons.

  2. 2 nezabarom
    November 25, 2008 at 10:10 am

    What about RAW format pictures? What is your opinion about them?
    Thank you for your time and professional advice.

  3. 3 Maria
    March 16, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Hola Daniel,
    I have been taking pictures for a while know and truly love doing it. There are some techniques that I see in your pictures that are great. The technique is that old mona lisa faded picture with the pattern faded in through out the picture. Sorry only way I could describe it. How can I achieve that texture and is it difficult.

    Gracias Maria

  4. 4 daniel
    March 17, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Hi Maria,

    It would be best if you showed me the picture you are talking about. Just send me a link please.

    daniel


Leave a Reply

