15
Feb
09

Late night thoughts

I have recently decided that I will not only be posting my photography work on this blog. You see, besides photography I have many other interests; one such interest is philosophy, and thinking about life in general. I know many of you don’t read what I write on here, and that is more than understandable…..but then again, some of you do read what I write, so your input on whether you want me to write anything like this again would be helpful.

Today’s thought is simple–life is too busy. As I lay here at 3:30am, not able to sleep and listening to depressing music, I realize how busy life is, and how little we enjoy it. What is life for anyways? Surely it is for more than keeping yourself busy with school, work, the radio, TV, and chores. Do we ever get “alone” time any more? Whenever I get a chance to think in solitude, like right now, I realize how meaningless life becomes if all that I do is try to keep myself busy, try to fill my mind with information the whole day.

Of course not all of this is voluntary: all of us have responsibilities, families to support and jobs to work at. All of us have to stay somewhat busy to survive. But I think there’s still lots of clutter in our life that we can and should get rid of.

Life is too short to spend it being busy all the time. We’ve got to enjoy it more: and there’s so much to enjoy. I guess what helps is thinking about what you would do if you knew you will die soon (say a month). Would you really spend your free time trying to search the internet for hours just wasting your time? Or watching some stupid shows on TV? I doubt it. If we had little time to live, we’d do only those things that truly matter–enjoy our friends and family, enjoy knowing Jesus, helping those in need. I really, honestly, cannot think of anything better to live for.

And the truth is–we are going to die one day; some sooner, some later. So we’ve got to live like it; we’ve got to live like there’s little time left. Because it is true–our days, like it or not, are numbered. So let’s enjoy life before it is gone

9 Responses to “Late night thoughts”


  1. February 15, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I understand what you are saying, I feel like that sometimes also. I would love to get away from the busy things in life and just go out and do what I want, but these busy things we do that keep us busy also fuel what we want to to do. I’ll be looking forward to hearing you’re other thoughts as well as your works.

    Take care,
    Brian

  2. February 16, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Just a few thoughts…

    For one, I do read the written stuff, I enjoy it. And doing so, I could see myself agreeing with you on the things i ponder on often too. Just yesterday I took a walk with my fiancee to an old castle, and on the way there was a cemetery, and we talked about life like that too, its too short. There were people driving by it, and I thought to my self nobody even looks towards the cometary – too busy – but the paradox is that one day its destiny for all of us.

    Another thing, I was wondering if i should post more ‘real life’ stuff on my blog besides weddings. I did a funeral a few weeks ago, and I dont have it on my blog because i dont know how people will react towards seeing both weddings and funerals on the same blog. But its all paradox again – its real life that somehow we want to not think about often. Just a thought…. any thoughts?

  3. 3 danielu
    February 16, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Well, first, thanks for reading what I write. As far as funerals–I wouldn’t post it. Mainly because I really don’t like looking at dead people, and secondly because it would not be something others would want to come look at on your blog. After all, one of the main reasons to have a blog is to have people look at your work; I think funerals would push people away. On the other hand, people like to see good photography, and I think people-in-grief can be good photography. I guess what I am trying to say is it would be ok to post sad things on the blog, but not necessarily funerals?

  4. 4 Stacy
    February 19, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Hey,
    Your thoughts are just as interesting as your photography. I noticed that back when you put up a post about Ossetia. I stop by your website on a regular basis and enjoy both the pictures and the thoughts… it’s good to realize some people actually THINK these days. So keep it up, you definitely have 4itateli 🙂

  5. 5 Ya
    February 19, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I am not the “perfect christian” but I am glad my parents raised me the way they did and that they lead me in the right direction. Our lives here ARE really short. And whether we like it or not, it wasn’t really given to us to enjoy or live through very prosto and pusto. We should remember HOW life (on earth) was given to us: because of sin. Adam had everything he needed and wanted up in heaven but on earth, he had to face suffering and sadness. So when people die-its sad (of course) but isn’t it MUCH better for them to go to heaven? Of course first we gotta deserve heaven and that means to separate ourselves from this earthly living. That is VERY hard to do, but we must. So here on earth, we have to work HARD to provide ourselves with everything we need to survive while also working hard for God. Then, when we get to heaven, we can all finally rest and be forever happy!

  6. 6 Solomon
    February 21, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I turned my head and saw yet another wisp of smoke on its way to nothingness: a solitary person, completely alone—no children, no family, no friends—yet working obsessively late into the night, compulsively greedy for more and more, never bothering to ask, “Why am I working like a dog, never having any fun? And who cares?” More smoke. A bad business.
    After looking at the way things are on this earth, here’s what I’ve decided is the best way to live: Take care of yourself, have a good time, and make the most of whatever job you have for as long as God gives you life. And that’s about it. That’s the human lot. Yes, we should make the most of what God gives, both the bounty and the capacity to enjoy it, accepting what’s given and delighting in the work. It’s God’s gift! God deals out joy in the present, the now. It’s useless to brood over how long we might live.

    Ecclesiastes (The Message)

    p.s. thank you for sharing your brilliant thoughts.. good stuff. but c’mon.. on valentine’s night?. haha.
    peace,
    oksana

  7. 7 Eugene
    February 24, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Reading this was surely NOT a waste of time… Great stuff Dan.

  8. 8 Natasha
    February 27, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Hello, Daniel
    First of all, it was a long time I din’t visit your site, and today I was going to check out the album fo Eddie and Vika, and I found your thoughts on life. I am actually very proud of you, young men, that you are thinking of that, because lots of young people don’t even try or consider thinking about life after death or about life being short. I don’t know if you’re aware, but I lost my mom very sudden and very unexpected on January 15, 09. Today, it’s been 40 days since she passed. Since that tragic day, my life had changed: I realized how little time I’ve spent with my mom, how little I was passion about people who lost their loved ones, how little I helped people who really needed someone to be there for them, because of what: work? because I watched my favorite show? because I didn’t want to? because I didn’t care enough? I love Jesus, and I know He wanted to teach me by mom’s death that life can end very unexpectadly one day and then what? How am spending my time? Thanks, Daniel.

  9. 9 Anastasia
    March 3, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Daniel,
    First of all, do yourself a huge favor and stop listening to depressing music lol. Seriously, it WILL NOT help. It just gives you an opportunity to feel fragile and weak. It has the potential to increase the dramatic state of your being and leave you feeling shattered and depressed. What you should do is listen to happy music, even when you don’t feel like it. Chances are, even if you hate it, it will leave an imprint in your subconscious and you will wake up the next day humming to that happy song 😉

    Reading your Blog made me think about my own feelings towards life and how people live it on a regular basis. If you look outside your widow, you come to realize there are many things you could detest about humanity: social injustice, the trivialization of modern culture, the apathy of fellow citizens, their unbelief in God, the slow pace at which society seems to reform itself. Sometimes we all wish people cared more about these issues and ideas, about how they could change their lives to reform such issues, and less about how they look or how much money they have. We all wonder occasionally if we are weirdoes or malcontents for thinking that way and then (just like you said) we quickly remind ourselves that we still have jobs to go to, cars to drive, a friend or two to hang out with, and a family to feed.

    The truth is we are not weirdoes; we are Christians that understand what God is showing us, which is the fact that our brains should be less filled with every day life worries, and more with living for Him and others. Life in the US is too fast pasted and I can guarantee you that 99% of the time you will be busy. However, some people are just so comfortable with their “personal” lifestyle and activities they have been practicing for years, that they are scared to break free from their “common standards”; they are afraid to do something for society, experience new things, or simply live their life differently. That is why God inspires Christians like you to go out and motivate other people to live their life to the fullest, to be alive for others and to make a difference.

    It is human nature to do the right things at the wrong time, when it’s late or almost too late. So maybe we should all not let that happen anymore. Maybe we should go out there and cause a revolutionary change, through which others can see just how different we are. We need to let everyone understand that we are unwilling to conform to what this world is telling us to do, and on the contrary, fulfill the will of God in the way we live and in all of our actions.

    Keep writing, you’re good at it and you inspire people to think.
    I hope my opinion on this matter and my feedback were helpful to you.


Leave a Reply

